Return to the Torresen Marine Home Page

Zoom, Intangible, Skye named Divisional winners

Overall winners have been named in the Mackinac-Cup, Cruising and Doublehanded Divisions. The remainder of the results remain preliminary, as a third of the fleet in the 2009 Race to Mackinac have yet to finish.

In the Mackinac Cup Division, the overall winner is Zoom, skippered by George Miz of Chicago, Ill. Zoom’s strategy to sail up the west side of the Lake to take advantage of the Wisconsin shore breeze was effective, and the crew was able to cross east at the Manitous, finishing with an corrected time of 55:09:53. In second and third place respectively are Spirit Walker (South Bend, Ind. ) and Scout (Milwaukee, Wisc.).

The Cruising Division was the first of the fleet to see Round Island this year, and the second boat to the Island, Intangible, takes the overall win. Skippered by Tom Falck, Intangible wins with an corrected time of 56:15:12. In second and third place are Mirage (Aroura, Ill.) and DogDayz (New Baltimore, Mich.).

A new division added for 2009, the Doublehanded Division honors go to Skye. Skye was crewed by Bill Zeiler and Rich Sterns both of Chicago. Skye corrected ahead of second place Chas of Thunderbay, Ont. by a mere 8 minutes.

As of 3:47 CDT, 110 boats have yet to finish. For preliminary section winners, see the

Share or bookmark this story:
[Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

This entry was posted on Tuesday, July 21st, 2009 at 10:19 pm and is filed under Chicago Mackinac, Main Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply