Return to the Torresen Marine Home Page
« News Home

« Previous Article:
Next Article »

Visit to our full Chicago to Mackinac Race Coverage.

Rosebud/Team DYT Capture Overall Title – Ft Lauderdale to Key West Race

Roger Sturgeon’s STP65 Rosebud/Team DYT took line honors in the 2009 Fort Lauderdale to Key West Race with an elapsed time of 13 hours, 56 minutes and 05 seconds. Averaging 11.4 knots of boat speed, the international crew crossed the line at 3:01:05 just off the Southernmost City on January 15 after completing the 160-nautical-mile sprint. Organized by SORC Management, which includes members of the Storm Trysail Club and Lauderdale Yacht Club, the 34th annual race started off of Port Everglades on Wednesday, January 14, and ran along the Florida Keys with a fleet of 46 boats spread acorss IRC, PHRF, Multihull and one-design classes.

“This victory was very important to Roger and me,” said Isobel Sturgeon (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.). “We have won regattas around the world, Key West Race Week, SORC in Miami, New York (Yacht Club) Regatta, Rolex Big Boat Series, etc. Roger has won the Transpac, Newport to Bermuda, Rolex Sydney Hobart and others all on his first try, but this race kept out of our reach. This was Roger’s third or fourth try, and the race is sponsored by our own yacht club: Lauderdale Yacht Club. The perpetual trophies are beautiful, but never had “Rosebud” on them. Now, winning it together, we will be able to look in the trophy case and see “Rosebud/TeamDYT” on the trophy on every visit to the club and show it to our family and friends. This means a lot to us. I can’t say it means more than any other victory, but seeing your name on a perpetual trophy in your own club is very important and rewarding.”

The race was described as “incredible” by Sturgeon, with cool weather, winds from 10 knots at the start to 18 knots for most of the night. “The boat performed beautifully,” said Sturgeon. “The redesigned keel and bulb as well as the newly faired rudder helped our performance improve by 10%! That’s amazing for a sailboat.”

This was Isobel Sturgeon’s first overnight race. “I have sailed overnight a number of times. But cruising overnight with some friends when you can have a nice meal accompanied with alcohol and racing an STP65 with 12 very competitive men on rations for four days are two different things!

“Everyone on the crew got along and spirits were always good. Naturally, this is easier when we horizon our competition, but we never knew we were winning because under the handicap system we had to be first to finish to just be in the game. As it turned out, we beat the second placed boat by a corrected time of 50 minutes! SWEET!”

In addition to line honors and overall IRC winner, Rosebud/Team DYT captured victory in IRC A class. This race is first on the calendar of 2009 Gulf Stream Series.

Overall victory in PHRF went to L’Outrage, a Benetau 34 owned by Bruce Gardner (Annapolis, Md.). “It is great to see a small, 34-foot boat win overall in its class,” said Race Chairman and Principal Race Officer Joel Bowie. “Hopefully his victory might inspire other local sailors with 30- to 40-foot boats to join in the fun next year.”

Trevelyan, a Corsair 28cc owned by Richard Stephens (Trumansburg, N.Y.) was first in Multihull Class B and First Overall in Multihulls with an elapsed time of 17 hours, 20 minutes and 42 seconds. (In 2007, Steve and Scott Liebel’s Custom 60 Stars and Stripes turned in the multihull record of 8 hours 31 minutes and 4 seconds.)

Share or bookmark this story:
[Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 21st, 2009 at 3:20 pm and is filed under Key West, Main Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply