Return to the Torresen Marine Home Page

US SAILING’s Rolex Sailor of the Year Awards Update

Portsmouth, R.I. – The end of the 2008 sailing season is approaching and, with that, comes the opportunity to recognize those U.S. sailors who have collected impressive regatta results at home and abroad in 2008. US SAILING is now accepting nominations for its Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards, widely acknowledged as the foremost individual sailing honors in the nation. Through November 30, 2008, every member of US SAILING may nominate the one male and one female sailor they think has had the most outstanding on-the-water sailing performance during the 2008 calendar year. Nominations can be made online through the US SAILING website at SAILING’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Awards are presented annually to the individual male and female U.S. sailor who has demonstrated on-the-water excellence at national and/or international events to earn their place in the history books. Sally Barkow and Jeff Linton, winners of the prestigious distinction for 2007, were the most recent additions to the list of legendary winners that includes Betsy Alison, Paul Cayard, Dennis Conner, Courtenay Dey, JJ Isler, Allison Jolly, John Kostecki, Buddy Melges, Ken Read, Cory Sertl, Jody Swanson and Ted Turner. Many of these winners won a world championship, Olympic medal, national championship, US SAILING championship, or other major sailing event.At the conclusion of the nomination period, a shortlist of nominees is presented to a panel of accomplished sailing journalists who discuss the merits of each and vote by secret ballot to determine the individual award winners. In February 2009, each winner will be presented with a specially-engraved Rolex timepiece. Originally created in 1961, US SAILING’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards have been sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A. since 1980.

Share or bookmark this story:
[Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

This entry was posted on Monday, October 27th, 2008 at 8:27 am and is filed under Main Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply