Return to the Torresen Marine Home Page

Rolex Sailor of the Year — Short List

Portsmouth, R.I. – In recognition of their outstanding on-the-water achievements in the calendar year that comes to a close later this month, US SAILING has announced the U.S. sailors who have been short listed for its 2006 Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards. Established in 1961 by US SAILING and sponsored by Rolex Watch, U.S.A. since 1980, the annual presentation of US SAILING’s Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year awards are widely regarded as the sport’s ultimate recognition for U.S. sailors as evidenced by the notable sailors who have won the coveted awards multiple times: Ed Adams, Betsy Alison, Dave Curtis, Dennis Conner, Courtenay Dey, JJ Isler, John Kostecki, Ken Read, Jody Swanson and Ted Turner.

Nominees for US SAILING’s 2006 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year award: Bacardi Cup Champion John Dane (Gulfport, Miss.); Thistle National Champion Greg Fisher (Annapolis, Md./Columbus, Ohio); International-14 World Champion Howard Hamlin (Long Beach, Calif.); Volvo Ocean Race winning navigator aboard ABN Amro One Stan Honey (Palo Alto, Calif.); Star Kiel Week Champion Mark Mendelblatt (St. Petersburg, Fla.); and Audi Etchells World Champion Jud Smith (Marblehead, Mass.).

Nominees for US SAILING’s 2006 Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award: Semaine Olympique Francaise Yngling champion Sally Barkow (Nashotah, Wis.); Laser Radial Youth World Champion Claire Dennis (Saratoga, Calif.); U.S. Junior Women’s Singlehanded Champion Sarah Lihan (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.); ISAF World Sailing Games Laser Radial Champion Paige Railey (Clearwater, Fla.); and US SAILING Rolex Miami OCR Laser Radial Champion Anna Tunnicliffe (Perrysburg, Ohio/Plantation, Fla.).

Share or bookmark this story:
[Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

This entry was posted on Monday, December 18th, 2006 at 2:24 pm and is filed under Main Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.