Return to the Torresen Marine Home Page

Country’s Top Sailors Compete at Championships

Portsmouth, RI (September 29, 2005) – Starting today, 20 of the country’s top one-design sailors are meeting on the race course off Bayview Yacht Club in Detroit, Mich., to compete in US SAILING’s U.S. Championship of Champions. More than 30 different one-design classes applied to have their National or North American champion compete in the event but, due to space limitations, only 20 were accepted to compete. Selected skippers range from a 13-year old Optimist sailor to a 68 year-old grand master. The one-design class champions are competing in Flying Scots for US SAILING’s Jack Brown Trophy. Sponsored by Rolex Watch U.S.A., Dry Creek Vineyards and WeatherWave, the event takes place through Saturday, October 1.

Competitors who have been selected to race in the U.S. Championship of Champions as well as the events through which they qualified are:
Andrew Daugherty (Little Rock, Ark.) – Y-Flyer National Champion
Eduardo Cordero (Sayville, N.Y.) – Sunfish North American Champion
Michael Ingham (Rochester, N.Y.) – Thistle National Champion
Richard Tillman (Syracuse, N.Y.) – Prodigy Class Champion
Rob Anderson (Moscow, ID) – San Juan 21 North American Champion
Jerry Thompson (Long Beach, Calif.) – Master Sabot Champion
Scott Savage (Columbus, OH) – Interlake National Champion
Nathan Fast (Groton, Conn.) – Blue Jay National Champion
James Bigham (Miami, Fla.) – Force Five North American Champion
Mathew Wefer (Glen Head, N.Y.) – Optimist National Champion
Ken Whitt (Chapel Hill, N.C.) – Tanzer 16 National Champion
Gib Charles (Fort Collins, Colo.) – Mutineer 15 National Champion
Barrett Sprout (Los Angeles, Calif.) – Coronado 15 North American Champion
Barret Rhoads (Nashville, Ind.) – Highlander Class National Champion
Peter Harper (Allen, TX) – Catalina 22 National Champion
Kevin Anderson (Grand Rapids, Mich.) – National Butterfly Champion
Mark Stang (Ocean Beach, N.Y.) – Narrasketuck Masters Champion
Oscar Barney (Salt Lake City, UT) – Geary 18 International Champion
Stuart Robertson (Huntington Beach, Calif.) – Lido 14 National Champion
Colin Smith (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.) – Optimist North American Champion

Inaugurated in 1976, the U.S. Championship of Champions is comprised of 20 class champions selected by US SAILING from nominations made by their class associations. Eligible are current national or North American one-design class champions who normally sail in the U.S. and are members of US SAILING and of a club, class or association affiliated with US SAILING.

Share or bookmark this story:
[Digg] [Reddit] [] [Facebook] [Technorati] [Google] [StumbleUpon]

This entry was posted on Thursday, September 29th, 2005 at 4:13 pm and is filed under Main Stories. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.